Another incredible Grand National in 2018 that saw quite a lot of changes on the run up including last minute withdrawals from Regal Encore and Walk In The Mill meaning that only 38 runners took to the starting line.

Despite the heavy going all runners and riders were in good form and with no false starts, the race went off without a hitch.

Tiger Roll won by one of the narrowest margins in the history of the race and a photo finish was needed to determine the winner. A delighted Davy Russell, who had never won the race, reigned victorious as trainer Gordon Elliott bagged his second win. It was also a second win for Gigginstown House and Michael O’Leary who won the race in 2016 with Rule The World, ironically with jockey David Mullins who had just been beaten into second place on Pleasant Company for trainer Willie Mullins.

Here is the finishing order:
1. Tiger Roll – Davy Russell
2. Pleasant Company – David Mullins
3. Bless the Wings – Jack Kennedy
4. Anibale Fly – Barry Geraghty
5. Milansbar – Bryony Frost
6. Road to Riches – Sean Flanagan
7. Gas Line Boy – Robert Dunne
8. Valseur Lido – Keith Donoghue
9. Vieux Lion Rouge – Tom Scudamore
10. Raz De Maree – Robbie Power
11. Seeyouatmidnight – Brian Hughes
12. Baie Des Iles – Ms Katie Walsh

The rest of the field:
1st fence:
Blaklion – Sam Twiston-Davies – brought down
Perfect Candidate – Alain Cawley – fell

6th fence:
I Just Know – Danny Cook – fell
Houblon Des Obeaux – Charlie Deutsch – fell
Virgilio – Harry Skelton – fell

7th fence:
Captain Redbeard – Sam Coltherd – unseated rider

8th fence:
Lord Windermere – A E Lynch – unseated rider
Buywise – Adam Wedge – unseated rider
Final Nudge – Gavin Sheehan – unseated rider

15th fence:
Chase The Spud – Paddy Brennan – pulled up
Alpha Des Obeaux – Rachael Blackmore – fell
Saint Are – Ciaran Gethings – brought down

17th fence:
Delusionofgrandeur – Henry Brooke – pulled up

18th fence:
Maggio – Brendan Powell – pulled up

23rd fence:
The Dutchman – Harry Cobden – unseated rider

26th fence:
Thunder And Roses – J J Slevin – pulled up
The Last Samuri – David Bass – pulled up
Tenor Nivernais – Tom O’Brien – pulled up
Shantou Flyer – James Bowen – pulled up

27th fence:
Ucello Conti – Daryl Jacob – unseated rider

29th fence:
Total Recall – Paul Townend – pulled up
Warriors Tale – Sean Bowen – pulled up
Pendra – Aidan Coleman – pulled up
Double Ross – Jamie Bargary – pulled up

Carlingford Lough with Mark Walsh and Childrens List with Jonathan Burke pulled up before the finish line