What a thrill the 2022 Grand National was! Crowds of fans were back at Aintree, the sun was shining and the British nation cheered on their favourite horses in the year’s biggest race.

It was the 174th annual running of the National and it took place on Saturday, 9 April 2022.

As the 40 runners and riders made their way to the starting tape, just one would tear up the history books ten minutes later.

History Making Noble Yeats

That was the winner, Noble Yeats, trained by Emmet Mullins and ridden by Sam Waley-Cohen. Having started the day on odds of 66/1, he went off as a 50/1 outsider.

But with fluid jumping and plenty of heart, Noble Yeats became the first seven-year-old to win the race since Bogskar in 1940. Plus, he was also a novice!

Sam Waley-Cohen became the first amateur jockey to win the Grand National since Marcus Armytage on Mr Frisk in 1990.

It was also the jockey’s last ever race, as he had previously announced that he would retire after the 2022 Grand National.

It was a terrific day for the Waley-Cohen’s and their connections who have given so much to the sport over the years.

Rest Of The Field

For the rest of the 39 Grand National runners, it was a mixed bag of results.

The first fence was the undoing of both Enjoy D’Allen and Mount Ida who both unseated their riders. By fence three Eclair Surf was a faller, bringing down Anibale Fly with him.

The Canal Turn (fence 8) was the undoing of three more – De Rasher Counter (unseated), Death Duty (fell) and Run Wild Fred (fell).

By the end of the first circuit of the Grand National course, 15 runners were out of contention.

From there on, those that didn’t finish the race were mostly pulled up.

In total, 15 Grand National runners finished the race, 25 did not.

Unfortunately for all involved, and in particular the connections, Discorama and Eclair Surf were euthanised following injuries sustained in the race.

Grand National 2022 Finishing Order

In the end, only 15 runners and riders finished the 2022 Grand National. The 2022 Finishing Order is below:

Position Name Age Handicap
SP Jockey Trainer
1 Noble Yeats 7 10-10 50/1 Sam Waley-Cohen Emmett Mullins
2 Any Second Now 10 11-08 15/2F Mark Walsh Ted Walsh
3 Delta Work 9 11-09 10/1 Jack Kennedy Gordon Elliott
4 Santini 10 11-02 33/1 Nick Scholfield Polly Gundry
5 Fiddlerontheroof 8 11-04 12/1 Brendan Powell Colin Tizzard
6 Longhouse Poet 8 11-04 12/1 Darragh O’Keeffe Martin Brassil
7 Freewheelin Dylan 10 10-10 50/1 Ricky Doyle Dermot McLoughlin
8 Coko Beach 7 10-13 50/1 Jonjo O’Neill Jr Gordon Elliott
9 Escaria Ten 8 11-01 25/1 Adrian Heskin Gordon Elliott
10 Romain De Senam 10 10-05 125/1 Philip Armson David Pipe
11 Samcro 10 11-01 80/1 Sean Bowen Gordon Elliott
12 Commodore 10 10-05 33/1 Charlie Deutsch Venetia Williams
13 Class Conti 10 10-10 100/1 Sam Twiston-Davies Willie Mullins
14 Blaklion 13 10-08 50/1 Harry Skelton Dan Skelton
15 Lostintranslation 10 11-06 50/1 Harry Cobden Colin Tizzard

Non Finishers Order

Below is the finishing order for those runners and riders that didn’t manage to make it around in 2021.

Fence Name Jockey SP Fate
1 Enjoy D’Allen Conor Orr 18/1 Unseated Rider
1 Mount Ida Denis O’Regan 66/1 Unseated Rider
3 Anibale Fly Luke Dempsey 80/1 Brought Down
3 Eclair Surf Tom Bellamy 14/1 Fell
8 De Rasher Counter Dam Wedge 66/1 Unseated Rider
8 Death Duty Jordan Gainford 33/1 Fell
8 Run Wild Fred Davy Russell 11/1 Fell
9 School Boy Hours Sean Flanagan 33/1 Pulled Up
9 Minella Times Rachael Blackmore 9/1 Fell
9 Agusta Gold Danny Mullins 66/1 Fell
9 Deise Aba Tom O’Brien 80/1 Pulled Up/td>
13 Discorama Bryan Cooper 33/1 Pulled Up
15 Domaine De L’Isle Harry Bannister 125/1 Unseated Rider
15 Burrows Saint Paul Townend 33/1 Unseated Rider
15 Kildisart James Bowen 50/1 Fell
17 Snow Leopardess Aidan Coleman 10/1 Pulled Up
22 Cloth Cap Tom Scudamore 33/1 Pulled Up
23 Dingo Dollar Ryan Mania 28/1 Unseated Rider
24 Mighty Thunder Derek Fox 40/1 Pulled Up
26 Fortescue Hugh Nugent 28/1 Unseated Rider
26 Poker Party Robbie Power 66/1 Pulled Up
27 Brahma Bull Brian Hayes 80/1 Pulled Up
27 Good Boy Bobby Daryl Jacob 22/1 Pulled Up
28 Top Ville Ben Thomas Dowson 80/1 Pulled Up
28 Two For Gold David Bass 33/1 Pulled Up

So there you have the 2022 finishing order for the race. The Grand National in 2022 was thrilling.

This writer screamed for joy watching Sam Waley-Cohen finally win the race he so richly deserved, making history in what was a simply spectacular race.

So roll on the Grand National 2023 when we get to do it all over again!