It’s the day of the 2024 Grand National, and everyone wants to know which jockeys will be on board their favourite runners.

Some have been here before. Some have even won. And a few will be making their Grand National debut.

So if you want to know who the Grand National jockeys are for 2024, the complete list is below.

So here we go…

The Full List Of Grand National Jockeys & Runners


Previous Winning Jockeys

Who is back to win another Grand National in 2024?


First up is Rachael Blackmore who is looking for her second win since riding home victorious on Minella Times in 2021.

It would be an incredible feat and one not achieved by many jockeys over the history of the Grand National if she were to win again.

This time she will partner Minella Indo, riding in Barry Maloney’s colours for trainer Henry De Bromhead.


Also back again and looking for a third win is Derek Fox. He bagged his first win on One For Arthur in 2017 and followed it up with another on Corach Rambler last year.

Riding for trainer Lucinda Russell again, connections will be hoping the winning duo can bag the most difficult of feats, back-to-back wins, with race favourite Corach Rambler on Saturday.

So two of the jockeys riding in this year’s National have won it before. They may have the experience and know the course like the back of their hands, but it’s still anybody’s race.

Female Jockeys In 2024

Rachael Blackmore made history in March 2021 by becoming the first female jockey to win the Leading Jockey title at the Cheltenham Festival.

She then rounded it off by winning the Grand National on board Minella Times for trainer Henry De Bromhead and owner JP McManus, the first female jockey to ever achieve that feat.

Can she win another Grand National? For the 2024 Grand National Rachael Blackmore will be riding 2021 Gold Cup winner Minella Indo for Henry De Bromhead.

She won’t be the only female jockey booked this year. Gina Andrews has been confirmed and will be on the Tom Ellis trained Latenightpass.

It’s the fairytale of the National as married couple, Ellis and Andrews take their own horse, homebred by Ellis’s mother, to the biggest stage of them all.

Finally, Lucy Turner was booked on Chambard for trainer Venetia Williams, in what would have been her debut in the National.

However, the horse was determined lame on the morning of the 2024 Grand National and was declared a non runner.

Jockeys Making Their Debut In 2024

2024 is proving another great year for jockeys who will take to the Grand National for the first time.

  • Caoilin Quinn – Nassalam
  • Gina Andrews – Latenightpass
  • Ben Harvey – Mahler Mission
  • David Maxwell – Ain’t That A Shame
  • Gavin Brouder – Foxy Jacks
  • Danny Gilligan – Chemical Energy
  • Sam Ewing – Galvin

While all of the jockeys listed above have plenty of experience when it comes to winning big races, until now they haven’t had the opportunity to take a spin around the Grand National.

So can a jockey making their debut in the 2024 Grand National actually go out and win it? It’s happened before!

Youngest and Oldest Jockeys To Win The Grand National

The youngest jockey to have ever won a Grand National at Aintree is Bruce Hobbs.

He won the race in 1938 at the age of 17, riding a horse named Battleship. Battleship was also notable as he was the first American-bred horse to win the Grand National.

The oldest jockey to have ever won the Grand National at Aintree is Dick Saunders, who won the race in 1982 at the age of 48, riding the horse Grittar.

Saunders was a popular jockey and his win on Grittar was particularly memorable as the horse was an outsider and not considered a serious contender by many.



Join with promo code SUMMER50

£50 IN FREE BETS - when you bet £10

New customers only. Register with SUMMER50 between 31/05/24 – 14/07/24. First bet £10+ at Evens (2.0)+ on Sports within 7 days to get 3 x £10 in Sports Free Bets & 2 x £10 in Acca Free Bets within 10 hours of settlement. 7-day expiry. Eligibility & payment exclusions apply. Full T&Cs apply. #ad. Please bet responsibly.