The Grand National’s roots trace back to 1839 in Aintree, Liverpool. The brainchild of William Lynn, the race quickly grew in popularity.

In the very first race, a horse called Lottery emerged as the winner, setting a precedent for the electrifying races that would follow in the decades to come.

However, the Grand National is not just any horse race; it’s a steeplechase, spanning over 4 miles with 30 jumps.

Known for its notoriously difficult fences, names like Becher’s Brook, The Chair, and Canal Turn have become synonymous with the race.

Beyond the adrenaline and competition, the Grand National is a cultural phenomenon. It’s a day when fashion, tradition, and sport intertwine.

Fans flocking to Aintree often don elaborate outfits and hats, making it as much a social event as a sporting one. And of course, there’s the betting!

Picking a horse to back in the Grand National is as much fun as spinning for an online slots jackpot – and it’s just as difficult.

Whether you’ve studied the form or simply like the name of the horse, backing a winner in the national gives you instant bragging rights. It’s the holy grail of winning bets.

20 Years Of Past Grand National Winners

Behind every successful horse and jockey is a dedicated team. Trainers, stable staff, and owners play crucial roles in preparing for the big day.

Plans for a run in the Grand National can be in place for years and everything from diet and exercise regimes to strategising race tactics, is pivotal on the run-up.

So just who are the previous Grand National winners from the last 20 years. More importantly, how many of them do you remember?

Year Horse Name Age Weight Jockey Trainer Odds
2023 Corach Rambler 9 10-05 Derek Fox Lucinda Russell 8/1 F
2022 Noble Yeats 7 10-10 Mr Sam Waley-Cohen Emmet Mullins 50/1
2021 Minella Times 8 10-03 Rachael Blackmore Henry de Bromhead 11/1
2020 Cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic
2019 Tiger Roll 9 11-05 Davy Russell Gordon Elliott 4/1 F
2018 Tiger Roll 8 10-13 Davy Russell Gordon Elliott 10/1
2017 One For Arthur 8 10-11 Derek Fox Lucinda Russell 14/1
2016 Rule The World 9 10-07 David Mullins Mouse Morris 33/1
2015 Many Clouds 8 11-09 Leighton Aspell Oliver Sherwood 25/1
2014 Pineau De Re 11 10-06 Leighton Aspell Richard Newland 25/1
2013 Auroras Encore 11 10-03 Ryan Mania Sue Smith 66/1
2012 Neptune Collonges 11 11-06 Daryl Jacob Paul Nicholls 33/1
2011 Ballabriggs 10 11-00 Jason Maguire Donald McCain, Jr. 14/1
2010 Don’t Push It 10 11-05 Tony McCoy Jonjo O’Neill 10/1 JF
2009 Mon Mome 9 11-00 Liam Treadwell Venetia Williams 100/1
2008 Comply or Die 9 10-09 Timmy Murphy David Pipe 7/1 JF
2007 Silver Birch 10 10-06 Robbie Power Gordon Elliott 33/1
2006 Numbersixvalverde 10 10-08 Niall Madden Martin Brassil 11/1
2005 Hedgehunter 9 11-01 Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins 7/1 F
2004 Amberleigh House 12 10-10 Graham Lee Ginger McCain 16/1
2003 Monty’s Pass 10 10-07 Barry Geraghty Jimmy Mangan 16/1

Which Horse Has Won The Grand National The Most?

The horse that has won the Grand National the most times is Red Rum. Trained by Ginger McCain, Red Rum won the prestigious Aintree Grand National three times, in 1973, 1974, and 1977.

In addition to his victories, Red Rum also finished in second place in the 1975 and 1976 races. His remarkable record and ability to handle the challenging Grand National course have made him a legendary figure in the world of horse racing.

To celebrate the great horse, a Red Rum statue at Aintree Racecourse stands as a tribute. Sculpted by Philip Blacker, a former jockey himself, the statue was unveiled in 1988.

Red Rum’s success at Aintree has made him a beloved figure in the world of horse racing, and the statue serves as a permanent reminder of his incredible achievements.

Who Is The Most Successful Winning Jockey?

Winning the Grand National isn’t just about the horse. The jockeys play a pivotal role, guiding their partners to victory.

Their split-second decisions can make or break a race. Over the years, we’ve seen jockeys like AP McCoy, Richard Dunwoody and Ruby Walsh etch their names into history.

However, the title of the most successful jockey in the Grand National is often given to George Stevens, who won the race five times during the 19th century.

His victories came aboard Freetrader in 1856, Emblem in 1863, Emblematic in 1864, The Colonel in 1869, and again with The Colonel in 1870.

Stevens’ record of five Grand National wins remains unbeaten, making him one of the most celebrated jockeys in the history of the race.

In more recent history, several jockeys have won the Grand National multiple times, including Leighton Aspell who won back-to-back Nationals in 2014 on Pineau De Re and in 2015 on Many Clouds.

Davy Russell also won back-to-back races with Tiger roll in 2018 and 2019. And in 2023, Derek Fox added a second win on Corach Rambler having previously won on One For Arthur in 2017, both of whom were trained by Lucinda Russell.

However, despite all of their successes, no jockey has matched George Stevens’ record of five victories.

The Legacy of the Grand National

There’s always something magical about looking back at previous Grand National winners. Because it isn’t just a race; it’s a legacy.

With every passing year, new champions emerge, joining the ranks of previous winners and they, in turn, inspire future generations to dream big and chase those dreams.

Despite many changes that are due to take place from 2024 onwards, the National remains an emblem of excellence in the world of horse racing.

As we eagerly await the next race, we celebrate the champions of yesteryears, knowing that their stories will forever be a part of this grand history.